Things aren’t always easy…..

photo 2 (2) This post is going to be a bit different from the rest.

If you look back over my previous posts, there’s some advice in there and some, what I hope, inspirational words as well, that have helped at least 1 person since I wrote it.

This one is going to be a little different.

I’m going to talk about hard days, hard weeks, things that go on behinds the scenes of a ‘personal trainer’, food, training, goals, all sorts – so that you can see it from our, or at least my, point of view.

Now I’m going to start here by saying I absolutely love what I do. Being involved in making people healthier, happier and generally more positive about life, is something that I’m wanting to, and working towards, doing my whole life.

This fits.

But it is no means and easy task.

It’s long hours, it’s little sleep, it’s stressful as it’s your own business so you’re the one accountable for its success or failure, it’s confusing about how best to market yourself sometimes, it can be frustrating when you’re trying to get clients and you see other trainers around you getting new ones when you aren’t, which questions you ability as a trainer and coach.

Helping other people can be hard sometimes.

photo 1 (3)

Personally, I don’t sleep especially well (look back to my fibromyalgia post to see why), and that means that come 4:30am ish, each day, I wake up – whether I want to or not.

I toss and turn, trying to get another hour in before my 5:30am alarm for my morning clients (who are awesome by the way), but it just doesn’t happen.

I do all my bits I need to and I’m out the door, in the gym, 1/2/3/4 clients depending on the day, then back home to eat and get work done.

This is anything from updating client workouts, checking food logs, replying to emails, writing emails, studying, scheduling social media posts etc

Basically working through the task list I’d written the night before, after my evening sessions, after I’d eaten my dinner (usually 8/9pm ish) and checked client session info for the day after.

This is a fairly usual day for me, with eating and training in there too.

Certainly beats sitting in an office that’s for sure !!

So let’s look a bit more behind the scenes;

Sometimes it’s not all smiles and rainbows for us (me).

There are days when I really don’t want to get out of bed early.

There are days I want to pig out on ‘junk food’

There are days I want to get wasted

There are days when I really really really don’t want to train

There are days when I get home to work when all I want to do is sit there and watch TV, and be lazy for a while

There are days when I worry about my business and my future (when will I get married, have kids, go on holiday etc)

There are days when I don’t want to interact with anyone at all

And sometimes, some of the hardest moments are with clients.

If we do a measure and it’s not what we wanted, or they didn’t respond to something nutritionally and even exercise wise

These things can be really disheartening for us (me) as well as the client

There are times when I question my ability to help someone

This post isn’t meant as a rant, or moan, or even to come across as me not loving what I do, far from it: it’s more to show you that there are times when it’s a difficult profession, like any other.

And that we don’t always like eating basic food, or training when we are sore.

But we do it, we all do, because we want to be a part of something better, part of a movement of change, for ourselves, and the people we are hired to help.

Despite the low points, and because of the high points, my love for this will never waiver

Thanks for reading

 

photo 3 (1)

Leave a Reply

